Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

2019-2020 LAND Trust Funds Received:

2019-2020 TSSA Funds Received:

2019-2020 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Brian McGill – Principal
801-826-5600
brian.mcgill@canyonsdistrict.org

Chad Heyborne – Parent/Chair
801-703-3935
heychadman@gmail.com

Matthew Leininger – Vice Chair/CTE Coordinator
801-826-5600
matthew.leininger@canyonsdistrict.org

Callie Bjerregaard – Counselor
801-826-5623
callie.bjerregaard@canyonsdistrict.org

Page Checketts – Parent
801-318-8632
page@checketts.org

Katie Christensen – Parent
801-721-9130
Katiechristensen202@hotmail.com

Melissa Gibbs – Parent
801-448-2358
melissa.true.gibbs@gmail.com

Jim Jensen – Parent
801-580-1824
jim@tkjmail.com

Shannon Kershaw – Counselor
801-826-5654
shannon.kershaw@canyonsdistrict.org

Tricia Leininger – Parent
801-455-5698
tricialeininger@yahoo.com

Chet Linton – Parent
801-414-7500
chetlinton@outlook.com

Cache Merrill – Parent
801-867-5841
cache.merrill@ziptech.com

Kelli Miller – Assistant Principal
801-826-5613
Kelli.miller@canyonsdistrict.org

Karl Packer – Faculty
801-826-5600
karl.packer@canyonsdistrict.org

April Richardson – Parent
801-427-2488
aprichar3@hotmail.com

Brittany Stephenson  – Parent 
801-910-4196
Brittany.stephenson@slcc.edu

Rochelle Stone – PTSA President
801-243-2991
rochellestone89@yahoo.com

Ronald Strohm – Faculty
801-826-5600
Ronald.strohm@canyonsdistrict.org

Garry True – Assistant Principal 
801-826-5612
garry.true@canyonsdistrict.org

Carolyn Cannon – Secretary
801-826-5604
carolyn.cannon@canyonsdistrict.org

Judy Rohner – Patron
801-232-6645
Jar3762@aol.com

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at Alta High School in the Hawk Field House at 3:00 p.m.

September 16, 2019

October 21, 2019

November 18, 2019

January 27, 2020

February 24, 2020

March 16, 2020

April 20, 2020

 

2019-2020 Minutes, Agendas, and Reports

Close Menu
Translate »